How I Got Here…

My hip journey started back in April of 2015.

I mowed my lawn for the first time this past spring and I could barely walk the next day.  I saw my trusted PT (who I’ve seen off and on for the last 6 years for back issues) who thought it could all be related to a labral tear.  He referred me to a local Orthopedic Surgeon.  He did the same tests my PT did and agreed that there was possibly a labral tear and he ordered a MRA.  The MRA said it was suspicious for a nondetached labral tear.  My follow-up with the local OS ended with him referring me to a Hip Preservationist in Columbus, Dr. Thomas Ellis.

hip2

I saw Dr. Ellis on May 6th.  We discussed my symptoms, he checked my hip ROM/strength/etc, and looked at my images (MRA and x-rays) and determined that I had Femoracetabular impingement (CAM) and labral tear.  He felt I needed a hip arthoroscopy to repair the tear and shave off the bone spur.  I had this done on May 28th.  I did relatively well post op until my 6 week follow up when I had a significant flare up in my adductors.  Dr. Ellis kept me off work an additional 4 weeks and backed off my PT program to see if we could get it to quiet down.  At 11 weeks I was doing well and returned to work.  BAD NEWS…..work and I did not agree.  I flared up again, badly.  I was set to see my PA at 4 months, but ended up contacting her 2 weeks before my appointment (by recommendation of my PT) to see about getting a steroid taper to see if we could get my inflammation to calm down.  We did a 10 day taper with no relief.  I saw Tiffany (PA) on September 14th and she felt I needed an intraarticular injection to determine if the pain was truly coming from the joint.  Once I had the injection I was to call her back and report.  After my injection my pain reduced by about 50% for an hour thanks to the lidocaine.  So, at that point Tiffany talked to Dr. Ellis and a repeat 3D CT scan was ordered.

Next post I’ll share with you the results of my follow-up with Dr. Ellis!

Leave a Reply

