Almost 4 weeks

Tomorrow I hit 4 weeks.  I have good days and bad days.  Overall I think this recovery has been harder than my last one.  Since last week I am down to no crutches around the house and one (or none if it’s a short distance) crutch when I’m out and about.  Tomorrow is supposed to be my last day in the brace, but we decided for me it would be a good idea to continue wearing it another week or two while I’m out.

PT continues as per Dr. Ellis’ protocol.  Taking it slow.  I am up to 8 minutes on the bike daily!!! I find I have similar pre-op symptoms after PT….so we are going to try dry needling again tomorrow.  It’s been 5 weeks since we needled last.  So, we’ll see if it can help.  I also have been pretty swollen and was told by my PT I need be icing more frequently, but with temperatures below zero outside it’s hard to talk myself in to it!  I’m trying though.

My PT and I have been discussing other possibilities to help me heal!  We discussed gut health and the possibilities of food allergies….which I have been suspicious of for years and already avoid many foods…just not 100% of the time.  So, I spent the last week or so trying to figure out what food allergies I have.  I finally saw a physician who specializes in food allergies.  His practice tests for 7 foods- corn, egg, milk, soy, gluten, yeast, and coconut.  After 17 arm sticks, I ended up being allergic to 6 of the 7!  Oh goodie.  The only one I’m not allergic to is yeast.  Today begins the elimination of those 6 items…the problem I’m still trying to work out is a few of my medications contain corn or dairy.  So, I’m working on figuring out what to do about that!

Other than that….I’m crocheting, watching netflix, and working from home.

Leave a Reply

