3 weeks/11 weeks

3 weeks post op hernia repair & 11 weeks post op hip revision

This has been a week of me trying to gain some endurance in preparation to return to work next week.  On Tuesday it hit 75 degrees in Ohio, so I picked up my 3 1/2 year old nephew from daycare and we went to the zoo for a few hours.  We had a good time and it was good to get out and enjoy the weather.  After walking around the zoo my butt hurt so badly.  My glutes are being used because I don’t have the strength in my other muscles yet!

Today at PT was interesting!  I started out on the bike for 8 minutes.  Then we dry needled my glutes (I have never wanted someone to stick a needle in my butt so badly!) and quad.  After needling we went out the gym to check my back and pelvis….surprise surprise I was a hot mess!  This created a challenge because the typical way to correct this couldn’t be done because of my hip/hernia surgery.  My PT was able to creatively fix it!  Yay.

Next my PT decided that since we weren’t “technically” allowed to start rehab until 4 weeks that she was going to “passively aggressively” rehab me.  So, she worked my shoulders with the body blade, punch-outs, rows, and other monotonous exercises until I was unable to move my arms.  I was exhausted!!!  Last thing was ICE!  My favorite.

After PT I had to go by work for a few hours and by the time I got home I was exhausted….next week is definitely going to be a challenge!  I have to be very cautious not to overdo it!!!

Leave a Reply

