The dreaded other side…

It’s been awhile since I’ve written about my hips.  This isn’t because they are perfectly healed, but it’s because I am at what I’m calling my new baseline on my left side.  Overall, my hip feels good, but  I still get some symptoms from my hernia repair.  My hernia surgeon feels my symptoms are due to tight hip flexors and weak core.  So, I continue PT to work on this!  I’ve been going to PT regularly since August 2014 (shoulder, back, and now hips).  So, now it’s on to talk about my other side!

I am now 9 months post-op revision on the left side and 7.5 months post-op hernia repair.  Last year, in-between my original surgery and revision, I started having some twinges on my right side.  I mentioned the pain to Dr. Ellis at one of my appointments, but he didn’t want to talk about it until we had my left side under control.  He hoped it was aggravated by the extra work it was doing to compensate for my left.  I thought he was right until a few months ago.  I went off of my mobic to see how my left hip felt and sadly I started feeling twinges in my right hip again.  I spoke with my PT about this and she told me that she thought this would happen, she just hoped that it wouldn’t happen for 2-3 years.  After much thought, I decided I was going to go ahead and schedule an appointment with Dr. Ellis in hopes that he’d tell me I was being paranoid.  Well, I saw Dr. Ellis, but he didn’t tell me I was being paranoid.  I had x-rays and he told me that my right hip is shaped exactly the same way my left was shaped.  Dr. Ellis wanted me to have a steroid injection to see if it would help.  He said if the pain in my joint got better from the lidocaine portion of the injection and my hip pain continued to get worse then he would recommend surgery.  I had the injection a few weeks ago.  The injection helped for a few hours and then I went back to the same pain.  So, I have given in and scheduled surgery.  T-minus 44 days, November 14th is the date of my 4th surgery in the last 16 months.

Leave a Reply

