Post-op Day 1

POD 1 has been unique.  I’m staying at my parents during my recovery, but my gas company is redoing my neighborhoods gas lines and I needed to be at my house to let them in…not the best timing, but if they don’t get in today, then I’ll be without heat in my house.  So, I got up at 6am to pack my beverages, smoothies, lunch, etc.  We left my parents at 7am for my mom to bring me to my house.  I hung out at my house with one of my ice machines until she got off work.  I worked on clearing my DVR so it had room for all that I have scheduled to record.

The surgery center called around 9:30am to check on me and remind me to do my ankle pump, watch for fever/drainage, etc.

Still taking diladid every 4 hours, Tylenol every 8 hrs…throat lozenges for my sore throat….and constant icing!  My neck is very sore from being intubated too!  I remember this from my last 2 hip surgeries and it takes a few days to go away!  I took off my bulky bandage to find that Dr. Ellis only used two holes to do everything!  It’s amazing to me!

My mom picked me up around 5pm.  Since we were down that way  we went to Trader Joe’s.  I was very slow and we were only there a few minutes to pick up a turkey, but I made it.

When I got back to my parents I did “tummy time” and had my dad do pendulums and log rolls.  I’ll try and get on the bike tomorrow for a few minutes.

Pretty uneventful boring day!

Leave a Reply

