POD #1

Today is post-op day one!  Last night I went to bed at 10:45pm.  I slept in bed with 2 pillows under my knees.  It allowed the stress to be relieved off my groin.  I set my alarm for midnight, 4am, and 8am to take my pain meds.  I had one heating pad on my neck, but I had to move it to my chest a few times throughout the night because of the chest discomfort.  I was able to sleep on my side with the pillows between my news for a little bit.  It was glorious!  Last hernia surgery, I wasn’t able to sleep on my side for weeks, so this was super exciting.  We’ll see how quickly the block wears off.  I ended up with one incision in my belly button that was used to see if the surgery could be done laparscopically and one incision that is approximately 3 – 4 inches long along my bikini line.  I still have some numbness (or lack of sensation) along my adductor, lower stomach, and crotch.

I woke up around 6:15am naturally.  I fell asleep off and on and I finally got out of bed around 8:30am and ventured to the kitchen.  Getting out of bed was a challenge.  My first few steps were painful!  I went to the kitchen to get everything I needed before I headed downstairs.  I made coffee, heated up some mashed cauliflower, grabbed a few beverages and snacks and headed downstairs.  I put the TENS unit and heat on my shoulders and ice on my incision.  Then it was time to relax and watch mindless tv.  I spent most of the day watching tv.  I took a few short naps.  The surgery center called to check on me.  I did ask her about the pain/pressure in the center of my chest.  She told me I should call my surgeons office just to be sure.  It was significantly better than yesterday, so I decided to wait to call (and my research online said it was completely normal).  My mom came home from work and made dinner.  My sister and nephews video chatted with me.  My sweet nephews played doctor through the phone.  They took my temp, BP, and listened to my heart.  They are the sweetest.  It was nice to chat with them!  The rest of the night was uneventful.  I went to bed around 10pm because I was tired!

Leave a Reply

