POD # 4 and 5

Day #4
It’s Sunday.  I slept well until 4am.  At 4am I started getting antsy.  I couldn’t get comfortable.  I wanted to sleep on my side, but I didn’t want to deal with the searing pain when I shifted from my back.  I was able to fall back asleep until 8am.

My mom was up early to get ready for my sister and nephews visit.  They were coming up to keep me company….so my mom felt the need to ‘get the house ready’ with vacuuming, etc!  I didn’t take any norco overnight, but during the day I still need it approximately every 6 hours…otherwise the pain is too much.

My sister got here around 12pm.  They brought me a flower and get well balloon.  Mom had grilled brats and hamburgers.  We ate lunch and then I made my way back to my ice.  The boys came down and played while I hung in the recliner. They left around 5pm and I stayed in the recliner the rest of the night.

It’s amazing how exhausted I can, but how I’m unable to fall asleep.  I just couldn’t get comfortable.  It was another night of decent sleep until 4am and then restless sleep until 6:15am.

Day #5

I got up at 7:45am.  I made my coffee and headed down to do some work.  It’s payroll Monday, so I had to remote in and approve my employees timecards or they wouldn’t get paid.  I also caught up on email and did a few other tasks that were easy to complete.

I took a 2 hour nap which felt great.  After I woke up I colored.  I made the realization that I prefer to color children’s coloring books with crayons than adult coloring books with markers/colored pencils.  The small detail areas are too much for me on the adult coloring books.  I think I am going to try and finish crocheting a blanket I started after my second hip surgery.  I don’t know if I have the desire to work on it!!!  Mom made boneless short ribs in the instant pot and boy were they good!  I was craving chocolate after dinner, but I wanted it to be Whole30 compliant since I haven’t had sugar in 62 days!  So, I made 3 ingredient brownies….they are in the oven (bananas, almond butter, & cocoa)!  Eh, they’re just ok.  They taste like banana.  I would tweak them more if I ever made them again.

Pain-wise today has been significantly better.  I haven’t taken any norco today, only ibuprofen.  I’ve been icing most of the day.  I’ve only had two close “searing” encounters, but I was able to shift quickly so it wouldn’t hurt!  I have sneezed numerous times today….luckily I was able to brace myself so it didn’t hurt too badly.  I am still hopeful to go back to work half days on Thursday & Friday….but I’m playing it by ear.

I did make a doctors appointment for tomorrow just to be sure.  This ‘chest pain’ continues.  It’s more annoying than anything and I want to make sure it’s not something I should be concerned about.  I didn’t tell my mom (eek) and I’m going to drive myself.  I’ll get in trouble for it, but she has done enough for me and I don’t want her to worry OR have to miss more work for me!  I’ll manage 🙂

Leave a Reply

