POD #6 & 7

Day 6:
Sleep was pretty much the same!  It is getting much easier to sleep on my side…this is exciting.  I had the same ‘chest heaviness’ while trying to fall asleep.  I awoke wide awake at 6:30am.  I laid in bed reading a book for awhile, then I finally got up and showered and got ready.  I made coffee and came down to ice for awhile.  My doctors appointment was at 11:30am.  He wasn’t too concerned with my “chest pain.’  With my family’s history of aneurysms and my hypermobility he wanted to start with a chest x-ray.  The chest x-ray showed pneumoperitoneum (gas/air within the peritoneal cavity) from surgery.  My doctor said it should steadily get better and not to worry!  That’s a relief.

I felt pretty good today.  I drove (my dad’s truck) to my doctors appointment because my SUV was getting an oil change.  I did fine getting in and out of the car…no sharp twinges surprisingly.  I did stop by one grocery store to pick up some crackers before my appointment.  I tolerated the outing today fairly well.  I came home and iced and rested.  Tonight I am a bit more sore than usual.  I am starting to get some tingling in my adductor (like the sensation may start coming back soon), the area around my incision and the right half of my crotch are still lacking sensation!

My plan is to take one more full day off and then return to work for a half a day on Thursday (and then play Friday by ear depending on how I do).  I emailed my boss (who has been super understanding over the past two years)….his response is great:
Ms. Subborn-
I don’t want to see you until Monday at the earliest!  Rest and heal up.
John
I don’t think anyone realizes how BORED I am!!!!  I am going to go home tomorrow, against my mom’s wishes!  I’m not going to push it, but I’m sick of ‘wasting’ my vacation time!!!

1 week:
I’m made it to a week post-op and I came home!  Yay!!!  I am so thankful for my parents (especially my mom) and all they’ve done for me over these last 5 surgeries, but there is just something about being in your own space!  I am pretty sore from yesterday’s outing and my Donjoy that I have at my house isn’t working correctly.  I am going to ask my mom to bring me the one I was using at their house (my dad’s) when she brings the rest of my things tonight.  She didn’t want me lifting/carrying my stuff, so I only brought the things I needed.

I had no food in my house, so I took a quick trip to the grocery store to grab the necessities.  I was very slow moving and noticed every movement.  Unfortunately, my temporary handicap placard expired on 3/1!  So, I just looked like an old lady hobbling around slowly!  I am sore, so I’m just hanging on the couch with an old school ice pack.

I made one of my favorite (and easiest) dinners….shredded buffalo chicken!  I used my instant pot to cook some frozen chicken.  Later in the evening, my wonderful mom came and brought me the rest of my stuff and the working ice machine!  Yay!!!  I always feel bad when I “leave” her, but there is just something about being home!

Leave a Reply

