Injection

If I would’ve been planning ahead I would’ve waited until after my injection to see my PT…but I didn’t have that luxury because I schedule so far in advance to get my PT’s early appointments.  Since my PT worked so hard to get my body back in working order I felt bad trying to break myself again.

For those of you who don’t know it is important to have your symptoms whenever you have a diagnostic injection.  My injection was this morning.  I decided to go for a run last night to try really flare it up.  In the past I have struggled to know for sure if all the pain went away from the injection.  I wanted to know definitively where the pain was coming from so I wanted to make sure that my hip was good and painful!  I went for my first run in forever!  I planned to do 2 miles.  I got to my mile turn around and then it all went to hell.  I ended up limping and in significant pain the rest of way back to my car (but I successfully flared up my hip).

My injection was at 9:20am.  I didn’t feel too badly this morning.  I’ve seen this doctor one other time before for an injection (and have had at least 5 other injections) so I knew what to expect.  He received a referral from my surgeon, but no notes.  He was confused as to why we were only doing a local and not a steroid too.  I explained the last 6 months!  I have had 3 steroid injections since September.  All doctors have their own recommendations as to how many and how frequently an injection should be done.  I picked his brain about what his recommendations are (every 4 months) and he agreed our best plan of attack was a diagnostic local injection with no steroids to reduce the risk of AVN.  Prior to the injection he utilized ultrasound to locate the major landmarks.  He also took the opportunity to look at the capsule and iliopsoas.  From his experience he thought the iliopsoas could be my problem, but there was no swelling this time.  He did find swelling in the joint though.

So, after I left the doctors office I decided to try and replicate my run from the previous night because that would definitely tell me where the pain is coming from.  Of course my pain of running the path behind the doctors office didn’t work out because it was pouring rain…luckily my parents only live 5 miles from the office so I went to their house to run on their treadmill before I went to work.  Surprisingly I had absolutely no pain….I guess it’s officially my joint!  So, I called Dr. Ellis’ office to see what he wanted to do next.  I heard back from them after lunch….he wants a 3D CT scan and an MRA.  I am scheduled for an all day adventure in Columbus on 7/27…starting with a 3D CT, MRA, and then an appointment with Dr. Ellis.  Hopefully I get some answers soon….I just hope it’s not surgery 😦

 

Leave a Reply

